☎ 087.942.9614

Kilshane Road, Finglas West, Dublin 11.

Finglas Celtic FC Club History

Liam Martin, Ernie Furphy, Paul Farrell and Henry Greene formed Finglas Celtic Football Club in May 1988. We started with two teams under 10’s and under 11’s; they played their home matches in Mellows Park, behind the local fire station here in Finglas. Our first sponsor was Mr. Tony Taaffe, a local Solicitor here in Finglas, he continued his sponsorship for ten years and became a patron of the club. Councillor Pat Carey T.D. became our first president.

As we increased our teams year by year it wasn’t until 1992 / 1993 season that we won our first honours. Our under 9B team won the Brenfer League and were beaten finalists in the Charlie Haughey and Ballygall Cup Finals. The following year 1993 / 1994 this team went on to win the Dublin & District Schoolboy League Paisley Deering Cup (the only major cup the club has won in their schoolboy history). Our under 14C team also won that season and our under 10C team came runner-up in the league.

Before the end of the 1993 / 1994 season we had to move from our home ground of Mellows Park to Colaiste Ide, a local college on Cardiffsbridge Road, to make way for the extension of the Finglas dual carrigeway. We moved to our new home ground in Kildonan Park for the 1995 / 1996 season where we still play today. In 1997 / 1998 season our under 11C team became the first eleven a side team in the club to win the league unbeaten. Phone: 01 8353889.

Club Video

For further Information feel free to contact us. See our contact page.

© Finglas Celtic FC. All rights reserved.